Every month, we’ll be spotlighting someone from the LERETA roster.


This month get to know Sheila Armstrong, our First Vice President / IT Strategic Analyst. Get to know Sheila, below! 

  1. What is your role with LERETA? Primarily, I work with the Product Owners and Business Leads within LERETA, along with our customers, to better understand how we all use our platforms and how to improve the platforms based on these conversations.
  2. How long have you worked with LERETA? I’ve been with LERETA for 37 years…and 2 months, to be exact.  
  3. What is your favorite thing about your job? The variety of work that I have been involved with, such as: Working with IT personnel, working with the business, working with our customers and even some technology groups.   All LERETA’s systems are written in-house, so we have the ability to be creative and supportive of users, which has been exciting.
  4. Tell us about your family. I have been married to my husband Gene, who previously worked at LERETA,  for 44 years.   We lived in San Fernando Valley for our first 8 years of marriage then moved to Fontana, California.  We sold our home 6 ½ years ago to live and travel in our 40-foot Motor Home.   We have been to Alaska, Canada (Twice), cross country to Pennsylvania twice, to visit family and do genealogy research.   We have decided it is time for us to set down roots again and we are looking at north Las Vegas for a community and a new home. We have two children; our son, Gene Armstrong (who worked for LERETA twice) and our daughter Michelle.  Gene lives in Portland, OR while Michelle lives in Vancouver, WA.  Gene is in Information Technology and Michelle works for the Washington State Police in their forensics department.
  5. What do you like to do in your free time?  My free time is spent planning trips in our Motorhome or trips to visit other countries.  Additionally, I do like to read or do genealogy research.   I have over 3,000 names in my family tree but my biggest accomplishment so far was to become a registered member of the Daughters of the American Revolution.   I am currently working on another patriot for my daughter which then Gene, my husband, can use the research to become a member of the Sons of the American Revolution. 
  6. Where did you grow up? I grew up in Monroeville, PA.  It was a town of around 20,000 people but where your neighbors were friendly and watched out for each other.   After graduating college (Youngstown State University), I moved to Florida for a 5-year stint, working at REDI of Miami and was then recruited to join a new company called HW Systems in California.   

Check out last month’s Employee Spotlight here >> 

Make a change today

Learn about how we’re challenging the status quo of tax and flood services.